Spirit of Discovery

Already back in June 2018, MEYER WERFT held the keel laying ceremony for the first new ship for Saga Cruises. The Spirit of Discovery is the first of two ships for the successful English cruise company. The new ship has an overall length of 236 metres with a breadth of 31.2 metres and a rating of 58,250 GT. It can accommodate 999 passengers. The cruise ship will be delivered in summer 2019.

The new ships are being given a completely new design tailor-made to the English market to make them unmistakable in every port. They well set new standards in terms of both interior design and also technical aspects.

After a longer period of time, the shipyard is now going to be using building dock I again for complete new-builds with the Spirit of Discovery. This means that three instead of the originally planned two cruise ships will be delivered in 2019. Building dock I will then be used for another new-build for Saga that is scheduled for delivery in summer 2020.

The traditional cruise line is very successful in its market segment and currently operates two ships. Saga has specialised in providing services for the target group of people aged 50 years and more. In addition to holidays in general and cruises in particular, the company also offers insurance and healthcare products to this group of people.

Main Characteristics

Tonnage58.250 gt
Overall Length 236 m
Width 31.2 m
Passengers999

Spirit of Discovery

Bereits im Juni 2018 erfolgte die Kiellegung des ersten neuen Schiffes für Saga Cruises auf der MEYER WERFT. Die Spirit of Discovery ist das erste von zwei Schiffen für den erfolgreichen englischen Seereiseanbieter. Das neue Schiff hat eine Länge über alles von 236 Metern, eine Breite von 31,2 Metern und eine Vermessung von 58.250 BRZ. Es können 999 Passagiere untergebracht werden. Das Kreuzfahrtschiff wird im Sommer 2019 abgeliefert.

Die neuen Schiffe erhalten ein völlig neues Design, das auf den englischen Markt zugeschnitten ist und so in jedem Hafen unverwechselbar sein wird. Sie werden hinsichtlich des Innendesigns und auch im Hinblick auf die Technik neue Maßstäbe setzen.

Mit der Spirit of Discovery wird nach längerer Zeit das Baudock I der Werft wieder für komplette Neubauten genutzt. Somit werden im Jahr 2019, statt der bisher geplanten zwei Schiffe, drei Kreuzfahrtschiffe abgeliefert. Anschließend entsteht im Baudock I ein weiterer Neubau für Saga, der im Sommer 2020 abgeliefert wird.

Derzeit betreibt die traditionsreiche Reederei, die in ihrem Marktsegment sehr erfolgreich ist, zwei Schiffe. Saga hat sich auf Serviceleistungen für Menschen ab 50 Jahren spezialisiert. Neben Urlaubsreisen und speziell Kreuzfahrten bietet die Reederei dieser Personengruppe auch Versicherungen und Gesundheitsleistungen an.

Hauptdaten der Spirit of Discovery

Vermessung58.250 BRZ
Länge über alles 236 m
Breite auf Spanten 31,2 m
Passagiere999