Livestock Carriers

Every year many millions of living animals are transported from their place of origin to a destination thousands of kilometers away. There are often thousands of kilometers between those two places. In order to cover this distance, animals are often transported by ships.

The design and construction of such livestock carriers is another focus of MEYER WERFT. In the early 70ties, MEYER WERFT began with the conversion of cargo ships and tankers and modified them in livestock carriers. By building 27 livestock carriers MEYER WERFT is regarded as market leader in this area.

In April 2000 MEYER WERFT delivered the Al Shuwaikh to the shipping company KLTT, Kuwait. The rebuilding of the ship with a capacity of transporting 80.000 sheep was managed by MEYER WERFT in cooperation with her sister company NEPTUN WERFT. MEYER WERFT had already manufactured livestock carriers for KLTT in the past. In 1997 the Al Messilah, having a capacity to transport 80.000 sheep, and in 1980 the Al Kuwait (ex Al Shuwaikh), having a capacity to transport 125.600 sheep, were delivered.

Transporting living animals is subject to very strict international rules. Especially countries like Australia do have strict animal welfare requirements. Livestock carriers of MEYER WERFT are equipped with automatic feeding and water supply systems, combined troughs for sheep and cattle, horizontal and vertical dung removal systems as well as dismountable decks made of aluminum for combined sheep/cattle carriers. Moreover the ships have stalls made of zinc-coated metal and/or aluminum as well as optimized ventilation systems.

By having efficient ventilation systems, special top coats and special ramps, the welfare of the animals and maximum safety is ensured.

Tiertransporter

Jährlich werden mehrere Millionen lebende Tiere zwischen ihrem Herkunfts- und Bestimmungsort transportiert. Oft liegen Tausende Kilometer zwischen beiden Orten. Um die Distanz zurückzulegen, werden Tiere heute häufig mit dem Schiff transportiert.

Schiffe für diesen Zweck zu bauen, ist ein weiteres Fachgebiet der MEYER WERFT. Anfang der 70er Jahre begann die MEYER WERFT mit dem Umbau von Frachtschiffen und Tankern zu Tiertransportern. Mit 27 Umbauten gilt die Werft als einer der Marktführer in diesem Bereich.

So lieferte die MEYER WERFT etwa im April 2000 die Al Shuwaikh an die Reederei KLTT aus Kuwait ab. Der Umbau des Schiffes mit einer Kapazität von 80.000 Schafen erfolgte unter der Leitung der MEYER WERFT in einer Kooperation mit dem Schwesterunternehmen NEPTUN WERFT. Bereits früher hat die MEYER WERFT Tiertransporter für die Reederei KLTT gefertigt. 1997 wurde die Al Messilah mit einer Kapazität von ca. 80.000 Schafen und 1980 die Al Kuwait (ex Al Shuwaikh) für 125.600 Schafe abgeliefert.

Der Transport von lebenden Tieren auf Schiffen unterliegt sehr strengen internationalen Vorschriften. Besonders Länder wie Australien haben für diese Transporte strikte Tierschutzauflagen erlassen. Tiertransporter der MEYER WERFT sind daher mit automatischen Futteranlagen, automatischer Trinkwasserversorgung, kombinierten Trögen für Schafe und Rinder, Entmistungsanlagen für horizontale und vertikale Förderung sowie ausbaubaren Aluminiumdecks für kombinierte Schaf-/Tiertransporter ausgestattet. Außerdem verfügen die Transporter über Stallkonstruktionen aus verzinktem und/oder Aluminiummaterial und über ein optimiertes Lüftungssystem.

Mit den leistungsfähigen Belüftungsanlagen, den spezielle Deckbeschichtungen sowie dem Einbau der besonderen Rampen, ist das Wohl der Tiere und eine größt mögliche Sicherheit gewährleistet.