Container Ships

MEYER WERFT manufactured an innovative quartet for the issuing house Hansa Hamburg Shipping International: Eilbek, Reinbek, Flottbek and Barmbek. The order for the construction of these new and innovative container ships was placed in October 2003. All four ships were delivered in the course of 2005.

The fast and slender ships are 169 meters long, 27,2 meters wide and can operate at a speed of 20 knots. The ships are having a tonnage of 15.600 gt and provide room for 1.600 containers (1.600 TEU).

The technical special feature of these ships originates on the one hand from the maximum ice-class (Finish-Swedish 1A Super) and on the other hand from the special arrangement of the hatches. As so called „open-top-ships“, the middle area of the ships as well as the side- and front area is equipped with hatch covers. This new concept allows maximum flexibility when it comes to use the ships for Feeder transport – hence as supplier for the very large container ships.

The cargo hold has a triple longitudinal division, and the superstructure holds six passenger cabins. While on previous ships the fuel bunker was provided in the double bottom or double shell, it is now foreseen inside the ship. In case of a collision oil which may leak out will not spill into the water and will hence not pollute the environment.

Ships for Hansa Hamburg Shipping International

  1. MS Eilbek

    MEYER WERFT delivered the first 1600-TEU container ship on 6th January 2005. "Building this ship at a German shipyard, and sailing under the German flag, with Hamburg as port of registry, underlines our commitment to Germany as a location for shipbuilding and shipping," said Hansa Hamburg's CEO, Harald Block.

    Just as her sisters, the Eilbek has a length overall of 169 m and a breadth of 27 m. The ship has been chartered by the Wappen-Reederei in Hamburg. Next to the crew of seven, also seven passengers can travel on board.

    close

  2. MS Reinbek

    The Reinbek is the second of the four new container ships with a cargo capacity of 1620 containers (TEU). Like the other ships of this series, the Reinbek is equipped with a two-stroke MAN B&W diesel engine. In addition, the ship has one deck that is intended for up to eight passengers.

    MEYER WERFT delivered the MS Reinbek to Hansa Hamburg Shipping International in March 2005. Like the Eilbek, the Reinbeck was christened in Hamburg. Inge Stiebel (Stiebel-Eltron) was her godmother at the launching ceremony. The 1600 TEU ship was chartered by the Canadian shipping company CP Ships and is operating between Canada and north-west Europe.

    close

  3. MS Flottbek

    The MS Flottbek is one of the four container ships that are identical in construction and that MEYER WERFT delivered to Hansa International Shippling in 2005.

    On 5 May 2005 - the 816th anniversary of the port of Hamburg - the MS Flottbek arrived in the port of Hamburg while the German national anthem was played. A big crowd was watching the parade from the Landungsbrücken-pier. However, it was only a very short appearance since the very next day the MS Flottbek was on her way to Antwerp to load the first containers for CP Ships, from where she set out to cross the Atlantic for Montreal.

    close

  4. MS Barmbek

    As fourth ship of the new type, the container ship Barmbek of MEYER WERFT was presented in a very special manner on 25th/26th June 2005: MEYER WERFT transferred for the first time two ships at the same time. Two hours after the delivery of MS Barmbek, the luxury cruise liner Norwegian Jewel, being produced in Papenburg at the same time, left the shipyard.

    It was spectacular to see that the MS Barmbek accomplished the route with the bug forwards downstream the Ems passage, while the Norwegian Jewel did this backwards. The reason for the backwards drive was, that the forehead rotated marine screw propellers should scoop additional water under the hull. In spite of the new Ems barrier, helping to retain the river, the passage of new constructed cruise liners is still a precision job.

    close

Containerschiffe

Für das Emissionshaus Hansa Hamburg Shipping International fertigte die MEYER WERFT ein innovatives Quartett von Containerschiffen an: Eilbek, Reinbek, Flottbek und Barmbek. Der Auftrag zum Bau dieser neuartigen Containerschiffe wurde im Oktober 2003 hereingenommen. Alle vier Schiffe wurden im Verlauf des Jahres 2005 abgeliefert.

Die schnellen und schlanken Schiffe sind 169 Meter lang, 27,2 Meter breit und erreichen eine Geschwindigkeit von 20 Knoten. Die Schiffe haben eine Vermessung von 15.600 BRZ und bieten Platz für 1.600 Container (1.600 TEU).

Die technische Besonderheit dieser Schiffe liegt zum einen in der maximalen Eisklasse (Finish-Swedish 1A Super) und zum anderen in der besonderen Anordnung der Luken begründet. Die Schiffe sind im mittleren Bereich als sog. „open-top-Schiffe“ und im vorderen sowie seitlichen Bereich mit Lukendeckeln versehen. Dieses neuartige Konzept erlaubt die größtmögliche Flexibilität bei der Nutzung der Schiffe im Feedertransport – also als Zulieferer für die ganz großen Containerschiffe.

Auch die dreifache Längsteilung des Laderaums mit insgesamt sechs Passagierkabinen ist eine Neuheit. War der Treibstoffbunker sonst im Doppelboden oder in der Doppelhülle eingebaut, so ist er nun im Inneren des Schiffes zu finden: bei einer Kollision gelingt so eventuell austretendes Öl nicht ins Wasser.

Schiffe für Hansa Hamburg Shipping International

  1. MS Eilbek

    Übergeben wurde das erste Containerschiff des Typus 1600 TEU von der MEYER WERFT am 6. Januar 2005. „Dass wir dieses Schiff auf einer deutschen Werft gebaut haben und die deutsche Flagge mit Heimathafen Hamburg führen, das ist unser Bekenntnis zum Schiffbau- und Schifffahrtsstandort Deutschland“, so der Geschäftsführer der Hansa Hamburg Harald Block.

    Wie auch die folgenden Containerschiffe der Serie TEU 1.600 hat es eine Länge von 169 Meter und eine Breite von ungefähr 27 Metern. Betreut wird das Schiff von der Wappen-Reederei Hamburg – neben der siebenköpfigen Crew können sieben Passagiere mitfahren.

    schließen

  2. MS Reinbek

    Bei der Reinbek handelt es sich um das zweite der vier neuartigen Containerschiffe mit einer Ladekapazität von 1620 Containern (TEU). Wie auch die anderen Schiffe der Serie ist auch die Reinbek mit einem Zweitakt-MAN B&W-Dieselmotor ausgerüstet. Zudem verfügt das Schiff über ein Deck, das ausschließlich für bis zu acht Passagiere vorgesehen ist.

    Im März 2005 lieferte die MEYER WERFT die MS Reinbek für Hansa Hamburg Shipping International ab. Nach der Eilbek wurde auch die Reinbek als in Hamburg getauft. Unternehmergattin Inge Stiebel (Stiebel-Eltron) war die Taufpatin des neuen Schiffes. Das 1600 TEU Schiff wurde von der kanadischen Reederei CP Ships gechartert und wird zwischen Kanada und dem nordwestlichen Europa eingesetzt.

    schließen

  3. MS Flottbek

    Die MS Flottbek gehört zu dem baugleichen Quartett von Containerschiffen, die die MEYER WERFT im Jahr 2005 an die Hansa International Shipping übergab.

    Am 5. Mai 2005 - zum 816. Geburtstag des Hamburger Hafens - lief die MS Flottbek zu den Klängen der Nationalhymne in den Hafen: von den Landungsbrücken beobachteten Tausende die große Parade. Bewundert werden konnte die MS Flottbek allerdings nur kurz: Bereits am nächsten Tag war das Containerschiff auf dem Weg nach Antwerpen, um für den Charterer CP Ships erste Container aufzunehmen. Die dann folgende Reise führte über den Atlantik bis nach Montreal.

    schließen

  4. MS Barmbek

    Als viertes Schiff des neuartigen Typs wurde das Containerschiff Barmbek von der MEYER WERFTam 25./26. Juni 2005 auf eine ganz besondere Weise präsentiert: Die MEYER WERFT überführte erstmals zwei Schiffe gleichzeitig. Zwei Stunden nach der MS Barmbek verließ der zeitgleich in Papenburg gefertigte Luxusliner Norwegian Jewel die Werft.

    Spektakulär dabei war, dass die MS Barmbek mit dem Bug voraus flussabwärts die Emspassage bewältigte, während die Norwegian Jewel dies rückwärts tat. Grund für die Rückwärtsfahrt war, dass die vorn rotierenden Propeller zusätzliches Wasser unter den Rumpf schaufeln sollten. Denn trotz des neuen Emssperrwerkes, mit dem der Flusslauf aufgestaut wird, ist die Durchfahrt von Kreuzfahrer-Neubauten immer noch Millimeterarbeit.

    schließen