The Shipyard‘s First Passenger Ship

When the young Joseph L. Meyer wanted to build iron ships, Papenburg’s inhabitants were skeptical. A local ship-owner threw a piece of iron into the water of the main channel, waited till it sank and asked: "You want to build a ship from this?" But Joseph L. Meyer had a goal in mind and against all critical voices he turned away from timber ships and devoted himself to building iron ships.

The shipyard‘s first three iron ships were built in 1873, three so called ‘Kohlenprähme’, which were delivered to Wilhelmshaven. One year later, under yard number 4, the first passenger steamer by MEYER WERFT was launched. It was delivered to the Norddeutschen Lloyd in Bremen.

The ship, having a tonnage of 133 gt, had a length of 35,05 meters, a breadth of 5,52 meters and a draught of 2,87 meters. The Triton could operate at a speed of 9,5 knots due to a low-pressure machine (build by the company Meyer & Barth) that provided 300 Psi. The Triton had a crew of nine and could transport up to 210 passengers.

The Norddeutsche Lloyd employed the ship, as required, either as tugboat, tender or in seaside resort operations. The ship was handed over to the shipyard G. Seebeck in Geestemünde in January 1896 and was remodeled there to a sole steam tugboat.

Der erste Passagierdampfer der Werft

Als der junge Joseph L. Meyer Eisenschiffe bauen wollte, waren die Papenburger Bürger skeptisch. Ein heimischer Reeder warf ein Stück Eisen ins Wasser des Hauptkanals, wartete bis es versank und fragte: "Daraus willst du Schiffe bauen?" Doch Joseph L. Meyer hatte ein Ziel vor Augen und gegen alle Skepsis wandte er sich dem Holzschiffbau ab und verschrieb sich dem Eisenschiffbau.

Die ersten drei Eisenschiffe der Werft wurden dann auch im Jahr 1873 gebaut. Es handelte sich um drei Kohlenprähme, die an Willhelmshaven abgeliefert wurden. Ein Jahr später lief schließlich unter der Baunummer 4 der erste Passagierdampfer der MEYER WERFT vom Stapel. Er wurde im März 1875 als Triton an den Norddeutschen Lloyd in Bremen abgeliefert.

Das mit 133 BRT vermessene Schiff hatte eine Länge von 35,05 metern, eine Breite von 5,52 Metern und 2,87 Meter Tiefgang. Mit einer bei der Firma Meyer & Barth gebauten 300 PSi leistenden Niederdruckmaschine brachte es die Triton auf eine Geschwindigkeit von 9,5 Knoten. Die Triton hatte eine Besatzung von neun Mann und konnte bis 210 Passagiere befördern.

Der Norddeutsche Lloyd setzte das Schiff je nach Bedarf als Schlepper, Tender und im Seebäderbetrieb ein. Im Januar 1896 wurde das Schiff an die Werft von G. Seebeck in Geestemünde übergeben und dort zum reinen Schleppdampfer umgebaut.