Back in Action after 100 Years

Almost one hundred years ago MEYER WERFT was marked by the economic recession in the shipbuilding industry. These were years full of worries and concerns for the shipyard. Managing Director Joseph Lambert Meyer occupied his employers with the construction of the new boiler making plant in 1908 and1909. Nevertheless he also took in orders that hardly provided any profits.

The construction of the double-screw passenger steamer with yard number S. 240, the Prinz Heinrich, took place during this time. It was commissioned by the Borkumer Kleinbahn & Dampfschifffahrts AG. Despite the difficult situation, the Prinz Heinrich was completed in 1909 and subsequently operated between Emden and Borkum. But this was just the beginning of her journey.

During the world wars she operated as a supply vessel. The passenger steamer was renamed to „Hessen“ in 1953 and was restructured as a motor ship five years later by the shipyard AG-Ems. After some years in service, she was sold to Lübeck in 1970 to function as a museum-ship in the course of an overseas exhibition and was renamed to „Mississippi“ and was eventually sold to Warnemünde.

It was only in 2003 that the newly founded association „Traditionsschiff Prinz Heinrich e.V.“ ensured her return to her home region. Only one year later, the State Office for the Preservation of Monuments in Hannover recognized the Print Heinrich as a ‘movable monument on the water’. In addition she was designated as the last contemporary witness of the German Empire Era and as the last German cargo-, post- and passenger steamer, which has to be preserved by all means.

In the end of January 2008 the Prinz Heinrich was restored in such a way that she could be launched in the Leeraner port. To this day volunteers are working on the restoration of the ship. In spring 2012 the steam engines were once more reinstated. By now, this traditional ship advances its completion with big steps.

Once completed, the ship is to travel again, operating on its traditional route between the island Borkum and the Dutch Delfzijl.

For further information please see: Traditionsschiff Prinz Heinrich e.V.

Nach 100 Jahren wieder im Einsatz

Vor knapp hundert Jahren war die MEYER WERFT geprägt durch die Rezession im Schiffbau. Es waren sorgenvolle Jahre für die Werft. 1908 und 1909 beschäftigte der damalige Geschäftsführer Joseph Lambert Meyer seine Arbeitnehmer mit dem Bau der neuen Kesselschmiede. Er nahm aber auch Aufträge herein, die kaum Gewinn boten.

In diese Zeit fiel der Bau des Doppelschrauben-Passagierdampfers mit der Baunummer S. 240. Es war die Prinz Heinrich, die von der Borkumer Kleinbahn & Dampfschifffahrts AG in Auftrag gegeben worden war. Trotz der kritischen Situation konnte die Prinz Heinrich im Jahr 1909 fertiggestellt werden, um schließlich als Fracht- und Fahrgastschiff zwischen Emden und Borkum zu verkehren. Doch das war erst der Anfang ihrer Reise.

Während der Weltkriege diente sie als Versorgerschiff. Im Jahr 1953 wurde der Passagierdampfer in „Hessen“ umbenannt und fünf Jahre später von der Reederei AG-Ems zum Motorschiff umgebaut. Nach einigen Jahren im Dienst, wurde sie 1970 als Museumsschiff „Mississippi“ für eine Überseeausstellung nach Lübeck verkauft, die wiederum nach Warnemünde verkauft wurde. Über die Jahre verschlechterte sich der Zustand des Dampfers zusehends.

Erst im Jahr 2003 sorgte der neu gegründete Verein „Traditionsschiff Prinz Heinrich e.V.“ für die Rückkehr des Schiffes in seine Heimatregion. Schon ein Jahr später erkannte das Landesamt für Denkmalpflege in Hannover die Prinz Heinrich als Bewegliches Denkmal auf dem Wasser an. Zudem wurde sie als letzte Zeitzeugin der Epoche des Kaiserreiches und als der letzte Deutsche Fracht-, Post- und Passagierdampfer bezeichnet, den es unter allen Umständen zu erhalten gilt.

Ende Januar 2008 war die Prinz Heinrich bereits soweit restauriert, dass sie im Leeraner Hafen wieder zu Wasser gelassen werden konnte. Bis heute arbeiten die freiwilligen Helfer an der Restauration des Schiffes. Im Frühjahr 2012 wurden die Dampfmaschinen wieder eingesetzt. Nun geht das Traditionsschiff mit großen Schritten seiner Fertigstellung entgegen.

Nach ihrer Fertigstellung, soll das Schiff wieder auf Fahrt gehen und seine traditionelle Route zur Insel Borkum und dem niederländischen Delfzijl aufnehmen.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie hier: Traditionsschiff Prinz Heinrich e.V.