A Giant between the Wars

72.9 meters long, 10.45 meters wide, the cargo steamer DURAZZO was the largest ship to leave Papenburg until 1951.

After the First World War, things only moved ahead gradually in the young German republic. So there was a sense of relief at MEYER WERFT when, in 1921, the order for a cargo steamer was received from a German ship owner - a veritable giant with its length of 72.9 meters.

The shipyard managed to complete the Durazzo on schedule, but during the months of its construction Franz Joseph Meyer scarcely had a moment's rest. Due to the very short building time all available hands on the shipyard had to assist first in the riveting and later in the painting. Even so, the 1468 GRT steamer was handed over punctually to the Hamburg-Amerika-Linie.

MEYER WERFT, too, was hit hard by the great world economic crisis at the end of the Twenties. In order to save the company, Franz Joseph Meyer once again concentrated on the construction of smaller, special-purpose vessels. With this he succeeded in steering the shipyard through the difficult times. He himself did not live to see his sons, Joseph-Franz and Godfried, expand the company after the Second World War to gain international renown. Up until the death of Franz Joseph Meyer in 1951 the Durazzo remained the largest ship ever to leave Papenburg.

Ein Riese zwischen den Kriegen

Mit 72,90 Meter Länge und einer Breite von 10,45 Metern war der Frachtdampfer Durazzo das größte Schiff, das bis 1951 Papenburg verließ.

Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg ging es in der jungen deutschen Republik nur langsam wieder aufwärts. Auf der MEYER WERFT war man daher froh, als 1921 ein deutscher Reeder einen Frachtdampfer bestellt wurde - mit 72,90 Metern Länge ein wahrer Riese.

Es gelang der Werft, die Durazzo termingerecht fertigzustellen, doch Franz Joseph Meyer hatte in diesen Monaten kaum eine ruhige Minute. Wegen der sehr kurzen Bauzeit mussten alle verfügbaren Leute auf der Werft erst zum Nieten und später zum Streichen eingesetzt werden. Dennoch konnte der 1.468-BRT-Dampfer pünktlich an die Hamburg-Amerika-Linie übergeben werden.

Die große Weltwirtschaftskrise traf Ende der zwanziger Jahre auch die MEYER WERFT hart. Um das Unternehmen zu retten, setzte Franz Joseph Meyer wieder verstärkt auf den Bau kleinerer Spezialschiffe. So schaffte er es, die Werft durch die schweren Zeiten zu bringen. Er erlebte nicht mehr, wie es seinen Söhnen Joseph-Franz und Godfried nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gelang, das Unternehmen zu einer international anerkannten Werft aufzubauen. Bis zum Tod von Franz Joseph Meyer im Jahr 1951 blieb die Durazzo das größte Schiff, das Papenburg verließ.