Location of MEYER WERFT for over 200 YEARS

The town of Papenburg with its 35,000 habitants looks back on a long shipbuilding tradition. The city has been MEYER WERFT’s location for over 200 years. What shipbuilding lokked like in the past can be viewed alongside the canals; The many hotels and restaurants along the town's canals are reminiscent of shipbuilding in the old days.

MEYER WERFT is the only shipyard of formerly 23 Papenburg yards that has survived to this day. By focusing on the construction of cruise ships early on the company has safeguarded its position not only in Papenburg, but also on the international market.

MEYER WERFT has a Visitors Centre where guests can see how the floating luxury hotels are built. A panoramic window offers an almost unobstructed view into the huge covered building dock and the ships under construction inside. In addition, the past comes to life once more through the galleries. Films, exhibits, and a mock-up cabin document how MEYER WERFT has developed regarding construction, technic and equipment.

Über 200 Jahre Standort der MEYER WERFT

Die Stadt Papenburg mit ihren insgesamt 35.000 Einwohnern blickt auf eine lange Tradition im Schiffbau zurück. Seit über 200 Jahren ist sie Standort der MEYER WERFT. Wie der Schiffbau der Vergangenheit aussah, kann entlang der Kanäle der Stadt besichtigt werden; zahlreiche Hotels und Restaurants lassen alte Traditionen der MEYER WERFT wiederaufleben.

Die MEYER WERFT ist die einzige von ursprünglich 23 Papenburger Werften, die überleben konnte: Durch eine frühzeitige Spezialisierung auf Kreuzfahrtschiffe sicherte sie sich ihren festen Platz in Papenburg und der Welt.

Der Bau der schwimmenden Luxushotels kann im Besucherzentrum der MEYER WERFT bis ins Detail nachvollzogen werden. Dort bieten die Panoramafenster einen fast unbegrenzten Einblick in die riesige Halle und auf die beeindruckenden Schiffe im Bau. Galerien lassen zudem die Vergangenheit lebendig werden. Filme, Exponate und eine Musterkabine dokumentieren den Wandel in Bau, Technik und Ausstattung der MEYER WERFT.