Constructing with State-of-the-Art Software

Building special ships, especially large passenger- and cruise ships, is a technical and logistically highly demanding task. Computer-aided technologies for the design, planning, construction and final completion of these ships are implemented in all areas of the shipyard. Shipbuilding in Papenburg is a highly modern industry. Here, swimming hotels that virtually carry their own municipal power plants on board are constructed.

The implementation of modern technologies within the field of construction is of the essence, precisely because of the complex challenges that the technical progress and highest customer demands entail.

Engineering drawings are no longer made manually but by means of a computer-aided construction. With the help of CAD-programs three-dimensional volume models are created, which are then turned into moving virtualization.

In cooperation with the aviation industry MEYER WERFT followed new paths already in the end of the 80ties: The adjustment and the utilization of the computer software CATIA provides new ways regarding the creation of three-dimensional drawings for the optimization of the design and the construction of the ships today. Together with their business partners Dassault and IBM, this tool as well as other innovative software components, is continually further developed for the requirements of shipbuilding.

Konstruktion mit modernster Software

Spezialschiffbau, vor allem der Bau von großen Passagier- und Kreuzfahrtschiffen, ist technisch und logistisch sehr anspruchsvoll. Computergestützte Technologien für Design, Planung, Konstruktion und Fertigstellung dieser Schiffe sind in allen Bereichen der Werft integriert. Schiffbau in Papenburg ist eine hochmoderne Industrie. Hier werden schwimmende Hotels gebaut, die ihre „Stadtwerke“ mit an Bord haben.

Der Einsatz moderner Technologien im Konstruktionsbereich ist gerade wegen dieser komplexen Herausforderungen, die der technische Fortschritt und höchste Kundenansprüche mit sich bringen, unerlässlich.

Technische Zeichnungen werden längst nicht mehr per Hand, sondern durch eine rechnerunterstützte Konstruktion angefertigt. Mit Hilfe von CAD-Programmen werden dreidimensionale Volumenmodelle erstellt, die dann in bewegte Visualisierung umgesetzt werden.

In Kooperation mit der Luftfahrtindustrie hat die MEYER WERFT bereits Ende der 80er Jahre neue Wege beschritten: Die Anpassung und die Nutzung der Computersoftware CATIA ermöglicht heute neue Wege in der Erstellung dreidimensionaler Zeichnungen zur Optimierung des Designs und der Konstruktion der Schiffe. Mit den Geschäftspartnern Dassault und IBM wird dieses Instrument sowie weitere innovative Softwarekomponenten kontinuierlich für die Anforderungen des Schiffbaus weiterentwickelt.