State-of-the-Art Facilities for Shipbuilding

MEYER WERFT is a company with tradition, which started operations in Papenburg on the Ems in 1795. For more than 200 years ships of most different types have been built by the experts working for this family-owned company.

In 1975 the yard moved its premises to a location on the periphery of Papenburg. Here, cruise ships were built for the first time. As early as in 1986 the world-famous Homeric was launched. Today, she is last cruise ship that was classically launched.

To be able to compete with other shipyards on an international scale, production engineering has been permanently improved. Among others, a covered building dock was built in 1987, the biggest one worldwide at that time, and was extended by 100 m in the early 1990s. To this day, the most demanding passenger- and cruise ships are created in these facilities.

But MEYER WERFT’S development continues: In 2001 a second, even bigger covered building dock was decided. It was followed by new pre-fabrication halls. Above all else, ready for series production laser welding technology is used in these facilities. Meanwhile also the second building dock has been extended. Another 120 m were added so that the hall now has an overall length of 504 m.

Nowadays MEYER WERFT's production premises count among the most modern ones in the shipbuilding industry.

Modernste Anlagen im Schiffbau

Die MEYER WERFT ist ein traditionsreiches Unternehmen: 1795 nahm die MEYER WERFT in Papenburg an der Ems erstmals ihren Betrieb auf. Seit über 200 Jahren werden ununterbrochen Schiffe verschiedenster Bauart von den Experten und Spezialisten des Familienunternehmens gebaut.

1975 wechselte die Werft ihren Standort und zog an den Stadtrand Papenburgs. Erstmals sollten hier Kreuzfahrtschiffe entstehen. Schon 1986 lief die weltbekannte Homeric aus. Sie ist heute eines der letzten Schiffe, das klassisch durch einen Stapellauf zu Wasser gelassen wurde.

Um international mit anderen Werften konkurrieren zu können, wurde die Produktionstechnik beständig erweitert. So entstand bis 1987 in Papenburg eines der größten überdachten Baudocks auf der Welt. Dies verlängerte die MEYER WERFT Anfang der Neunziger um weitere 100 Meter. Hier entstehen bis heute anspruchsvollste Passagier- und Kreuzfahrtschiffe.

Doch die Entwicklung der MEYER WERFT geht weiter: 2001 wurde der Bau eines zweiten überdachten Baudocks beschlossen. Auch neue Vorfertigungshallen kamen hinzu. In diesen wird vor allem die Laserschweißtechnik serienreif eingesetzt. Auch das zweite Baudock wurde inzwischen um 120 m auf eine Gesamtlänge von 504 m verlängert. Die Bauarbeiten wurden Ende 2008 abgeschlossen.

Heute verfügt die MEYER WERFT weltweit über die modernsten Anlagen im Schiffbau.