Quantum of the Seas

The Quantum of the Seas is a highly innovative cruise ship that has been built by MEYER WERFT for Royal Caribbean International. Not only does it feature the latest environmental technologies along with enhanced energy efficiency but it also scores extra points with its exciting new range of entertainment features.

The North Star is an observation capsule modelled on the London Eye ferris wheel; placed at a height of 90 metres, it is the only one of its kind in the world. The observation capsule is not only a highly spectacular attraction for passengers but it also represents a crowning achievement for the shipbuilders.

The large ‘Two70°‘ area is located at the stern of the ship and is a lounge with bar and dance floor by day while serving as a performance venue in the evening. The name stands for ‘270 degrees‘, in reference to the almost all-round view afforded to guests through the large window fronts. These are also used as projection surfaces during the evening shows.

Another innovation is the ‘SeaPlex‘, a multifunctional room in which passengers can pass the time with a wide choice of activities, including riding bumper cars and playing basketball. There is also a ‘RipCord by iFly‘simulator, which promises authentic sensations of taking part in an actual parachute jump. Even the inside cabins have an attraction of their own – they are fitted with 82 inch television screens, which serve as virtual balconies with real-time images of the sea, offering the same view as the outside cabins.

This miracle of innovation set sail from its home port of New York, taking 4,100 passengers at a speed of 22 knots towards the Bahamas and Bermuda as well as the Caribbean.

Main Characteristics of Quantum of the Seas

Tonnage167,800 GT
Overall Length348 m
Width41.4 m
Decks18
Engine Output67,200 kW
Speed22 kts
Number of Passenger Cabins2,090
Passengers4,180

Quantum of the Seas

Mit der Quantum of the Seas hat die MEYER WERFT für Royal Caribbean International ein besonders innovatives Kreuzfahrtschiff gebaut, das neue Maßstäbe setzt. Neben neuesten Umwelttechnologien und einer verbesserten Energieeffizienz punktet es vor allem mit aufregenden Entertainment-Neuheiten.

Der North Star, eine dem London Eye nachempfundene Aussichtsgondel in 90 Metern Höhe, ist weltweit einmalig an Bord eines Schiffes. Und nicht nur für die Gäste ist es eine spektakuläre Neuheit, sondern auch aus schiffbaulicher Sicht ist die Gondel eine Meisterleistung.

Das „Two70°“ ist ein großer Bereich am Heck des Schiffes, der tagsüber als Lounge mit Bar und Tanzfläche und abends als Show-Bühne dient. Der Name steht für “270 Grad” und nimmt Bezug auf den beinahe Rundum-Blick durch die großen Fensterfronten. Bei den nächtlichen Shows dienen sie zudem als Projektionsflächen.

Eine weitere Innovation ist das „SeaPlex“, ein Multifunktionsraum, in dem die Reisenden sich die Zeit beispielsweise mit Autoscooter und Basketball vertreiben können. Der Simulator „RipCord by iFly“ lässt sogar das Gefühl eines echten Fallschirmsprungs entstehen. Und selbst die Innenkabinen bieten eine Attraktion: 82-Zoll-Bildschirme mit Echtzeitansichten des Meeres dienen als virtuelle Balkone und ermöglichen den gleichen Ausblick wie die Außenkabinen.

Von ihrem Heimathafen New York aus geht dieses innovative Wunderwerk mit mehr als 4.100 Passagieren und 22 Knoten auf die Reise in Richtung Bahamas und Bermuda sowie in die Karibik.

Hauptdaten Quantum of the Seas

Vermessung168.600 BRZ
Länge über alles348 m
Breite auf Spanten41,4 m
Decks18
Maschinenleistung67.200 kW
max. Geschwindigkeit22 kn
Anzahl der Passagierkabinen2.090
Passagiere4.180