Norwegian Getaway

Norwegian Getaway is a sistership to Norwegian Breakaway. The keellaying which took place in autumn 2012 marked the start of the ship’s assembly. During the keellaying the first of 73 blocks of the 146,000-gt ship was put into place in the yard’s covered building dock. After a building period of only 15 months the cruise ship was delivered to the owner Norwegian Cruise Line (Miami, USA) in January 2014.

The Norwegian Getaway is the tenth ship MEYER WERFT has built for Norwegian Cruise Line. The Norwegian Getaway combines high-end event gastronomy as part of the "freestyle cruising concept" with many new leisure offers like rock-climbing or freefall slides. Just as impressive are the ship's luxurious outfitting and its state-of-the-art technical level.

The latest interactive communication systems and a sophisticated stage technology ensure safety and entertainment according to the state-of-the-art technical standards. The latest en-gine technology, the diesel-electric pod drive system, improved hydrodynamics as well as effective energy saving guarantee an ecological cruise experience at significantly reduced operating costs.

Norwegian Breakaway revolutionized cruising with its Waterfront and strong connection to New York. Norwegian Getaway will do the same as Miami’s ultimate ship, offering the only way to cruise the Caribbean from Miami with a plethora of incredible features,” said Kevin Sheehan, Norwegian Cruise Line’s chief executive officer.

Main Characteristics of the Norwegian Getaway

Tonnage146.600 gt
Overall Length325,7 m
Width39,7 m
Engine Capacity62.400 kW
Speed21,5 knots
Number of Passenger Cabins2.014
Passengers4.028

Norwegian Getaway

Die Norwegian Getaway ist das Schwesterschiff der Norwegian Breakaway. Die Montage des Schiffes hat mit der Kiellegung im Herbst 2012 begonnen. Bei der Kiellegung wurde der erste von 73 Baublöcken des 146.600 BRZ großen Schiffs in das überdachte Baudock der Werft gehoben. Nach einer nur 15-monatigen Bauzeit konnte das Schiff bereits im Januar 2014 an die Reederei abgeliefert werden.

Bei der Norwegian Getaway handelt es sich um das zehnte Schiff, das die MEYER WERFT für Norwegian Cruise Line gebaut hat. Das Kreuzfahrtschiff verbindet modernste Erlebnisgastronomie des “Freestyle Cruising Konzeptes” mit vielen neuen Freizeitangeboten wie beispielsweise einem Klettergarten und Freifallrutschen. Zudem beeindruckt das Schiff mit seiner luxuriösen Ausstattung und modernster Technik.

Mit einem interaktiven Kommunikationssystemen sowie der umfangreichen Bühnentechnik an Bord wird Unterhaltung nach den neuesten technischen Standards garantiert. Umweltfreundliche Motorentechnik, diesel-elektrische Pod-Antriebe, verbesserte Hydrodynamik sowie zahlreiche Energieeinsparungen sorgen für ein ökologisches Kreuzfahrterlebnis und erheblich reduzierte Betriebskosten.

Von Miami aus startet das Schiff ganzjährig zu seinen wöchentlichen 7-Nächte-Kreuzfahrten in die östliche Karibik.

Hauptdaten Norwegian Getaway

Vermessung146.600 BRZ
Länge über alles325,7 m
Breite auf Spanten39,7 m
Maschinenleistung62.400 kW
Geschwindigkeit21,5 kn
Anzahl der Passagierkabinen2.014
Passagiere4.028