Solvang ASA

In 1998 and 1999 MEYER WERFT delivered the tankers Clipper Viking and Clipper Harald to the shipping company Solvang ASA. It was the beginning of a longstanding cooperation. The first two ethylene-tankers are ice-strengthened and can transport liquefied gases at a temperature of minus 102°C.

Some years later the shipping company once again engaged MEYER WERFT with the construction of gas tankers. Four 17.000 m3 big gas tankers should be built till 2008.

In July 2007 the Clipper Hebe was delivered to the owners and was followed by the Clipper Helen in November 2007. In July and October 2008 the last two LPG/LEG tankers, Clipper Hermes and Clipper Hermod, were delivered.

The new gas tankers can operate at a speed of 18 knots, just like their predecessors Clipper Viking and Clipper Harald. In addition to ethylene, all ships can transport, among other things, ammonia, propylene oxide and venylchloridmonomer.

NEPTUN WERFT, MEYER WERFT's sister company in Rostock, was also involved in the construction of all four ships.

Solvang ASA

In den Jahren 1998 und 1999 lieferte die MEYER WERFT die Tanker Clipper Viking und Clipper Harald an die Reederei Solvang ASA ab. Es war der Anfang einer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit. Die ersten beiden Äthylen-Tanker sind eisverstärkt und können das verflüssigte Gas bei -102°C transportieren.

Einige Jahre später beauftragte die Reederei die Werft erneut mit dem Bau von Gasttankern. Bis 2008 sollten vier 17.000 m3 große Gastanker gebaut werden.

Im Juli 2007 wurde als erstes die Clipper Hebe an die Reederei übergeben, im November 2007 folgte die Clipper Helen. Im Juli und Oktober 2008 konnten schließlich auch die letzten beiden Gastanker, Clipper Hermes und Clipper Hermod, abgeliefert werden.

Die neuen Gastanker erreichen wie ihre Vorgänger Clipper Viking und Clipper Harald eine Geschwindigkeit von 18 Knoten. Neben Äthylen können alle Schiffe unter anderem auch Ammoniak, Propylenoxyd und Venylchloridmonomer transportieren.

Für den Bau aller vier Schiffe wurde die NEPTUN WERFT in Rostock, das Schwesterunternehmen der MEYER WERFT, mit einbezogen.