Gas- and Chemical Tankers

The best way to transport gases is in liquid form. Gases are liquefied by means of cooling or overpressure. Liquefied gases can be transported merely on special-purpose ships, so called LPG/LEG tankers.

On MEYER WERFT more than 50 gas tankers for transporting liquid gases and chemicals were built since 1961. The shipyard has specialized early on building such ships and is ever since a top address for construction such LPG-tankers.

These ships are almost floating chemical plants, looking at the complex technology of the gas plant, the tanks and the piping system. Shipyard staff involved in the construction of the ships needs special know-how, not only in terms of construction, but also when it comes to commissioning. Due to experience and production plants, MEYER WERFT is today capable of offering gas tankers of every type and size up to 100.000 m3.

MEYER WERFT also gained a wealth of experience and expertise when building over 500 pressure vessels and gas tanks. This competence enables MEYER WERFT to build gas tanks from a large variety of materials and for all kinds of fields of applications.

Gas- und Chemikalientanker

Gase lassen sich am besten im flüssigen Zustand transportieren. Flüssig werden sie durch Kühlung oder Überdruck. Somit können Flüssiggase nur mit Spezialschiffen, den so genannten Gastankern, transportiert werden.

Auf der MEYER WERFT wurden seit 1961 mehr als 50 Gastanker für den Transport von Flüssiggasen und Chemikalien gebaut. Die Werft hat sich frühzeitig auf den Bau solcher Schiffe spezialisiert und ist international nach wie vor eine der Top-Adressen für den Bau von LPG-Gastankern.

Die komplexe Technik der Gasanlage, die Tanks und das Rohrleitungssystem verwandeln die Schiffe in schwimmende Chemiefabriken. Werftarbeiter, die diese Schiffe bauen, brauchen spezielles Know-how; nicht nur für den Bau, auch für die Inbetriebnahme dieser Tanker. Aufgrund ihrer Erfahrung und ihrer Produktionsanlagen ist die MEYER WERFT heute in der Lage, Gastanker jeder Art und Größe bis zu 100.000 m3 anzubieten.

Aber auch beim Bau von über 500 Druckbehältern und Gastanks sammelte die MEYER WERFT einen großen Erfahrungsschatz und Fachwissen. Diese Kompetenzen machten es möglich, Gastanks aus den unterschiedlichsten Materialien für die verschiedensten Einsatzmöglichkeiten zu bauen.