Ferries

In addition to the construction of cruise liners, MEYER WERFT has also a long and successful tradition not only regarding the construction of cruise ships but also of high-end car and passenger ferries, Ro-Ro and passenger ships.

Ro-Ro ships ("roll on - roll off") are not loaded by means of cranes but with the help of vehicles. Therefore they are having a hatch provided at the bow at sea level. Who doesn’t know the giants with the immense front-hatch?

Especially insular states depend on the operation of ferries. Hence it is not surprising that Indonesian shipping companies are among MEYER WERFT's longstanding customers. Since 1983 the shipyard has built a large number of passenger ships and ferries for this Asian country. Over the years the Indonesian shipyard PT.PAL and the specialists from Papenburg have developed a close cooperation. Nowadays shipbuilders from Indonesia and from Germany are joining forces to build ships for the insular state in the Pacific.

In 1993 the shipyard established a new record by building the world´s largest cruise ferry “SILJA EUROPA", operated by Silja Line in the Baltic Sea between Finland and Sweden, mostly on the Turku-Stockholm route. As far as the interior outfitting is concerned, the Silja Europa almost meets the luxury standard of a cruise ship. Next to various bars and restaurants the ship also has a swimming pool with sauna and a theater.

Fährschiffe

Neben dem Bau von Kreuzfahrtschiffen verfügt die MEYER WERFT über eine lange und erfolgreiche Tradition im Bau von luxuriösen Auto- und Passagierfähren, RoRo- und Passagierschiffen.

RoRo-Schiffe (engl. „Roll on Roll off“) werden mit Hilfe von Fahrzeugen anstelle von Kränen beladen. Sie haben deshalb eine Luke auf Höhe des Meeresspiegels. Wer kennt nicht die Riesen mit der immensen Frontluke?

Besonders Inselstaaten sind auf den Einsatz von Fährschiffen angewiesen. Kein Wunder, dass indonesische Reedereien gute Kunden der MEYER WERFT sind. Seit 1983 fertigte die Werft unzählige Passagierschiffe und Fähren für das asiatische Land. Über die Jahre entstand eine enge Kooperation zwischen der indonesischen Werft PT.PAL und den Papenburger Spezialisten: Im gegenseitigen Austausch bauen heute Indonesier und Deutsche gemeinsam Schiffe für den Inselstaat im Indischen Ozean.

1993 stellte die Werft einen neuen Rekord auf und baute die bis dahin weltgrößte Kreuzfahrtfähre "SILJA EUROPA", die von der Silja Line im Ostseeverkehr zwischen Finnland und Schweden eingesetzt wird – vor allem auf der Route von Turku nach Stockholm. Die Silja Europa ist in ihrer Ausstattung fast so luxuriös wie ein Kreuzfahrtschiff: An Bord erwarten die Gäste neben verschiedenen Bars und Restaurants auch ein Schwimmbad mit Sauna und ein Theater.